A Daddy’s Perspective

I can’t imagine being a woman.  Well, I guess I can.  But I’m not sure I want to.  My wife, Kathryn, went to hell and back, I believe, for this baby.  Allow me to recount the ways:

Pregnancy: Kathryn gives up coffee, soft cheeses, alcohol, deli meat, etc.  This is hard for a woman who drank coffee every morning, who loves Brie, who enjoys a nice drink, and who can throw down some Jimmy Johns.  And for nine months – all of it was sacrificed.  And to make things interesting, let’s throw in a perpetual sensation of sea-sickness, a growing belly making for awkward balancing acts, and aching extremities.  Oh and one more thing, let’s make it really hard to get comfortable and sleep.  For nine months.

Labor: My dear wife spent two solid days of being induced.  That means lots of cramps and contractions.  A full day of contractions is no joke.  After day one, Kathryn was tired, worn out, and not too interested in doing more.  But day two brought on the real contractions.  Grimacing, hee-hee-hee breathing, painfully real contractions.  For hours.  And then it’s time to push.  For two more hours.  It was during these two hours of excruciating details (that I will spare you), where she stepped up and got the job done.  The moment was intense – as Kathryn stared a billowing, ominous season of unbearable pain in the face and pressed onward with profound depths of courage and poise.  And then a human being came out of her.

Post-pardum: After all of the fireworks, Kathryn has more demanded of her.  She’s physically recovering.  She’s emotionally catching up.  And this new human is depending on her for dear life, literally sucking the life out of her.  And as her hormones gradually readjust (creating somewhat of a circus for all of us), she gets to enter back into her life again – where all of her old and familiar problems are waiting there for her.

I love my wife.  I am so proud of her.  I have more respect for her (and mommys across the world) now than I ever have.  She gave up so much (and continues to give) for the life of this little one.  She reminds me of Jesus.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Sweet post! I appreciate the man’s point of view so much. She did do and is doing a heroic job as a Mommy!

    Reply

  2. Crying here. Great post Matt.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Helen Drinkard on October 1, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I love you Matt Howell!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Becky Musgrove on October 1, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Beautiful Matt!!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Don on October 2, 2010 at 4:15 am

    Matt, that was beautiful. My sister and niece are lucky to have a husband/father like you. And thank you for making my wife think I don’t appreciate her more. One another note please post more pics of that beautiful girl! …when you have the chance…

    Reply

  6. Posted by bano on October 6, 2010 at 4:22 am

    that, my friend, was a beautiful post. but not as beautiful as your daughter.

    Reply

  7. Posted by kathryn on October 6, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Matt, this post is so refreshing to read. your love for your wife and the fact that you notice and respect her as a woman is so beautiful. I’ve only known you for about a month so far and you are already impacting my life! Im so glad Zoe is finally here and I can’t wait to see her! You are all in my prayers =)

    Reply

  8. Posted by Servenator on October 6, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Barby Spates told me that the rib injury I had was very similar in pain level to having a baby, so I feel like I know what it’s like.

    Reply

  9. Posted by david on October 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    so happy for you guys! great post!

    Reply

  10. Matty Matt Blog Spot,
    I love how you love KK. Thanks for this.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Sarah Long on October 6, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    What a precious thing I just read. To remind you of Jesus, wow, I pray one day I remind those around me of Jesus. Your family is so blessed.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Maury on October 7, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    What a precious post, Matt. Thank you for loving our sweet KK.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Kristine Munselle on October 9, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I love absolutely everything about this post. I cannot wait to meet her someday soon.

    Reply

  14. Posted by sarah corbin on October 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    well said, matt. just don’t forget this when she’s up crying at 3:39am and kathryn wants you to check on her. no, but really, great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

