Family Matters

Who misses Carl Winslow and Steve Urkel?  I kind of do.  Matt misses Harriette.  But mostly we miss our family these days.  It makes sense…

My dad willingly and joyfully remained “on-call” for the past month, ready to take vacation days from work to drive out here, hug his first granddaughter, and find a one-way flight back to Memphis.  Meanwhile, my mom sacrificed a week and a half of her day-to-day life to be here in Boone – cooking meals, cleaning up dog hair, keeping me company, changing diapers, and holding the Bug (aka, Zoe Kate) when she wouldn’t sleep.  My brother and sister-in-law show their obvious excitement for our daughter with their calls and emails.  I remember 17 months ago, when they told me they were pregnant with their first child, it hit me how sad I was to be so far away from their growing family.  Planes are a quick way to visit, but they’re not quick enough.  We miss you all.

Next week, Matt’s family comes to visit.  They, similarly, are making many sacrifices to see us, love on us, and meet Zoe Kate (including trekking 32-hours round-trip).  We miss seeing his sister’s 4-year-old twins grow up, too.  Texas: you are so big, but you don’t quite stretch to North Carolina.  Tom and Sarah: we are thrilled to introduce you to your newest granddaughter on Friday!

So, basically, this is what I’m saying: I will post a reward out there to anyone who comes up with an easier way to travel across the continent.  The reward will be HUGE.  We’ll even throw in some snuggle time with the Bug (she’s the best).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pege on October 9, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    I too really wish you were closer…somehow Pops and I will get to NC often..so often, you will wish we lived inCalifornia. When it comes to grandchildren, there are no sacrifices, just pleasures. We miss Matthryn and Zoe Kate. Tom and Sarah, have a great time next week…I am envious.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amy on October 10, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Oh – we miss you like crazy. Can’t wait to see you all – shooting for November.
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  3. Posted by Helen Drinkard on October 11, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    I love you guys so much!!! Just read this and started crying a little bit. I can’t tell you how often Don and I both say how much we wish you guys were here. Or how often we strategize on how to get up there/when is the best time/etc.

    So proud of you both and keep the pics of Zeke coming!! We all look at them every day. Dewey actually started clapping this morning when we did our “Yay! Yay! Zoe K!” cheer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

