Summary of January with Wee Human

Not much has happened here in Vilas since Christmas, but I’ll give you some of the highlights.

Zoe Kate and Thena are still getting along (aka, they pretty much ignore each other until we force a baby/dog picture like this one…who doesn’t like a good baby/dog picture??).

ZK is holding her head up with increasing vigor each day.  Therefore, she has a new seat in the house…Bumpo.

Her beautiful parents.

Lesley visited from Knoxville!  Lesley and I have been close friends since we were 6 years old.  We shared our childhood days together, so you can imagine how fun it was introducing her to Zoe Kate.

Matt and I love it when other people hold Zoe Kate.  1) We don’t have to. 2) We want her to be raised by a multitude of people.  Her parents won’t be the only people she sees and listens to.  Meet Lydia…

…and Haley and Anna…

. ..and Alex (and yes, ZK is spitting up.  You would think it’s a miracle that we caught it happening RIGHT then, but truly it’s not.  She spits up 75% of her waking moments)…

Our good friends Todd and Julia Chitester came to Vilas for a couple of days in December.  Their 4 yr old Addison has an undying passion for dressing up.  Elvis is in the building.

 

How can I post a blog in the winter time without a picture of the snow?  I want all of your sympathy.

And now, a smattering of pictures of Zoe Kate.  Speaking of others raising her, a good family friend Dianne (aka, Di Di) gave her this pink corduroy dress, and Sandy Bruns (friend and parent-of-student Calvin) gave us this beautiful handmade quilt.  I love all of the colors.

 

Bathtime for chubs.

 

Party in the frog chair.

*Good friend and excellent photographer Emily Large gave me some good pointers on photo editing, which is why some of these pics are a little funky/cool (at least I think so)

Also, I thought it would be fun to make a list of some of the things I’ve learned about myself as a mom.

1.  I HATE to see my child sad.  But I LOVE it when her lower lip quivers.  I really can’t get enough of it.  What’s wrong with me??

2.  No matter what time I wake up in the morning – no matter how much sleep I’ve gotten – it hurts.

3.  I can tolerate most any gross thing now, even if it cakes on my skin all day.

4.  I’m starting to be able to block out her screaming tirades.  Good or bad?  Both, I think.

5.  Laundry taunts me.  It mocks me.  Along with our house.  Impossible to stay on top of.  And I’m ok with that right now.

6.  Babies now amaze me.  They used to bore me.

7.  Single moms are my heros.  How do you do it?

8.  I want to throw a giant dinner party for whoever invented the pacifier.  We owe you big time, Mr./Ms. Pacifier Creator.

9.  At times, I will lose my dignity trying to get a smile from Zoe Kate.  For every second she smiles, I think mine lasts at least 5 seconds.

10.  I’m even more of a germ-a-phobe.  As if that was possible.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by amyblack on January 27, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Love all your insights! And all of your pictures! ZK is seriously adorable! Also, love the voicemail duet B got Tuesday!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Twila on January 28, 2011 at 7:07 am

    You’re doing a great job! Look at that happy baby! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dorothy on January 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Love all of the pictures… even the one of your car covered in snow… looks COLD!

    Reply

  4. Posted by jill on January 29, 2011 at 4:29 am

    I wholeheartedly agree with all 10 things learned! And I feel you on the spit-up… I have given up wearing clean clothes. Hope we can get together soon…if the winter ever abates!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Tracy on February 1, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    You make me smile 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

